Skip to content
January 2, 2011 / Jasmine Lee

365 Project Thoughts & 2010 Reflections

Is it really 2011 already?! 2010 was such an amazing year… The biggest highlight was finishing my 365 project: one photo a day, every single day for a whole year. Whew! What a long, fun, frustrating, but most rewarding thing I have ever done for myself. In one year, I have learned so much about photography. I pretty much went from zero to hero, haha j/k. Not a hero, but I definitely know so much more than I did a year ago. This project was definitely of what one of my Flickr contacts described it as “Photography Bootcamp.” I could not agree with him more! There were so many days where I felt unmotivated to even pick up the camera, take a crappy picture, and have to post to my Flickr when it wasn’t up to my standards. There were spontaneous days where I would get in the car, drive to a certain location, and take a beautiful shot. There were days when I’ve discovered something new and obsessed with it for the next few days. Nevertheless, I am very proud of myself for accomplishing so much in just one year.

If I could tell a photo story of what my 2010 year was like, well, here it is.

I’ve learned how to make long exposures by slowing down the shutter speed.

I’ve learned how to create my first HDR image.

And after that, I fell in LOVE with HDR photography! I couldn’t stop… I submitted one of my favorite HDR photographs to the Photographer’s Forum contest and I made it as a finalist with this photo:

Being a finalist meant that I would be published in their “Best of Photography 2010” hardcover book! Omg, published in a book after only four months of photography? Now that is one HUGE accomplishment! It is such an honor to have my photo next to other very talented photographers who know so much more than I do…

Another popular HDR photo of mine that has the most favorites on my Flickr is the Embarcadero Stairs.

After desperations of wanting a DSLR, I finally got what I wanted…. the Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-70 f/2.8 lens, and the 580EXII flash. (I’ve been shooting with the Canon Powershot S90 before I got this camera).

I was well on my way to exploring new things… such as creating my first bokeh!!

Not knowing that this photo would go anywhere, photo.tutsplus.com had published this photo (above) in theirย  photo tuts+ “100+ Beautiful Examples of Bokeh Photography” Article!

I had the amazing experience shooting as a backup photographer at my cousin’s summer wedding.

After shooting the wedding, I got this mystery bug bite that caused me a whole lot of problems that led up to the next. Doctor visit after doctor visit, eventually landing myself in the Emergency Room!

Luckily, doctors detected the problem right then and there. Turns out I was allergic to the antibiotics that I was prescribed. Like I said, this incident led one after another… That is when I found out I have a mild scoliosis. Such a hard time in my life trying to accept the fact that I have this… But good thing it isn’t as bad as we all thought it was.

Moving on, I’ve traveled to quite a few places this year… I don’t think I will ever do that again. But I was in good company the entire time. My best friend Nerd and I traveled to Reno, Orlando, Washington DC, New York City, and Las Vegas during the summer. I don’t think I could ever travel that much again… But it was a lot of fun and just a great experience to see new cities!

Here is a shot from Sand harbor in Nevada taken on July 4th.

And a 2AM shot of the valet parking at our hotel – Peppermill in Reno

We traveled to Orlando and went to Epcot, and both Universal Studio Parks!

Here is a photo from Epcot, our first day of our whirlwind vacation.

Can’t forget Hogwarts at Islands of Aventure! ๐Ÿ™‚ It was such a magical place!!!! Nerd and I loved it!

We did SO much walking that my feet ended up looking like this after we left Orlando.

Haha, I’m just kidding! But my feet really did look like that after walking around in wet shoes for over 8 hours! I didn’t have an extra pair of shoes with me… So that’s what I got for going on a shark ride and getting all wet!

We then flew to Washington DC. Omg, this city was absolutely breathtaking. I loved ALL of the architectures, and historical buildings/monuments. Absolutely, a will have-to, visit place again!

And then of course we went to New York City for a day by taking a train. This was my second time going to NYC this year. I would say though…. I loved NYC in the winter time when it was freezing cold. It just looked so much more beautiful and the city didn’t smell like pee. Here is a shot when it was in the 30’s degree temperature.

And a summertime shot of Grand Central! Hello fish eye ๐Ÿ˜‰

Finally, our last stop on our vacation was Las Vegas. No, we didn’t go there to party. We went there to RELAX! And indeed we DID! We got upgraded to one of the nicer suites at Mandalay Bay. It came with a HUGE room and a HUGE bathroom. The best part was that it came with a jacuzzi and a TV inside the bathroom! Such a perfect way to relax… ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are my SOOC photos of our room.

It was a crazy vacation, but Vegas was just the perfect way to end it. We didn’t even leave Mandalay Bay (ok maybe a walk to the Luxor) but we chilled at the wave pool all day long and did some night time shopping.

Another wonderful experience was watching the San Francisco Giants win the World Series! I’ve never been so excited about baseball… But man, the Giants played a great season. So entertaining and heart pounding moments. The world series parade was held just one block from my work. I snapped what I could! Sergio Romo as he cruises down Montgomery Street in the Financial District.

I was lucky to get tickets from my work to watch one of their pre-season games. The seats were awesome! 4th row behind the visitors :).

There were moments during my 365 project that I just had to get a great photo. So I drove off to Yerba Beuna Island (right next to Treasure Island) to get a shot of the famous, overshot Bay Bridge. I was really satisfied with the shots I got there.

These photos were taken from a time lapse video that I created of the shots used above.

My year ended off with some beautiful scenaries… I’ve never seen rainbows this beautiful in my life.

Those rainbows were definitely incredible…

While I cannot post every single photo from my 365 project, it has been an incredible year… I’ve learned so much in such very little time. I love photography and I do plan on continuing my passion. My next objective is to learn how to create long exposures using Lee GND Filters. I can’t wait! ๐Ÿ™‚ until next time… Here are my last photos of 2010.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photosbyjas/5311708786/in/photostream/

To check out more of my photos, please visit my Flickr!

Goodbye 2010… Hello 2011! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. herman / Jan 3 2011 11:09 PM

    nice conclusion of the year, you must have spent hours writing that (i know cuz i blog, lol) i guess it’s time for me to wrap up my year as well. so what have i learned in terms of photography in 2010……nothing, lol! sigh.

    • Jasmine Lee / Jan 11 2011 11:27 AM

      Yes, it took me 2 hours to write, lol. What is your blog?

  2. Jasmine Lee / Jan 11 2011 11:27 AM

    :):):) thank you for all your support throughout the year!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Best of Photography Book « Jasmine Lee's Photo Blog
  2. Best of Photography Book » Jasmine Lee Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

